What advice do you guys have for pairing Leopard geckos?

This is my first season breeding leopard geckos, and I was wondering what advice or tips and tricks you guys have when it comes to getting your geckos to breed? I’ve tried paring one of my males with two different females that I have but not much has happened. He was licker her and biting her to try and grab her but they haven’t paired up yet. Once the females bite him back he gets turned off and stops trying, so I take him out and I give them a day to themselves before I try again. All my geckos all old enough, healthy and up to weight, and when I try I put them in a different tub from the ones they live in. I’m much wondering what tips you guys have to get them to breed.

1 Like

I’m just a hobbyist, but I’ve bred leopard geckos quite a few times. My biggest issue when I started was that I underestimated the importance of having the female being receptive. Many people have mastered the art of knowing the exact moment it’s right to put a male and female together. I totally suck at that, so I just put the male and female together towards the beginning of the season, then watch what happens.

The male should rattle his tail when he realizes there’s a lady nearby. From then on, watch the female. If she looks mad as hell, sort of wags her tail angrily, and tries to either run away or attack the male, then she’s not receptive, and they should be separated. When she’s receptive, she’ll hold still, lift up her tail, and accept the male nipping up her back to her neck. Don’t expect her to look thrilled, though. I give a few moments afterwards (the male will generally lick his personals, so if you see that- it’s normal), then put them each away.