What will happen if i breed GALAXY HET BELL with WY ENIGMA?

Hello , i am a beginner , i would like to ask everyone about breeding , i have 2 leopard geckos , Male : Galaxy het bell
Female : White and Yellow Enigma ( Bell )
What will i get if i breed them together?

3 Likes

Don’t. Enigmas have severe neurological issues that shouldn’t be bred. And plus you would have an extremely hard time selling them as almost everyone tries to avoid getting leopard geckos with the gene

9 Likes

TYSM for your information. But i have heard about " behavioral disorders " of enigma , some breeders have told me that the problem has been greatly reduced through breeding , is that true ?

3 Likes

Gonna tag in @armiyana & @mblaney here, but as far as I’m aware, Enigma is not a behavior issue and absolutely cannot be bred out. The Morphpedia entry for Engima also makes a point of this.

4 Likes

No and those breeders either have no clue what they are talking about or are extremely not trustworthy. The issues are linked to the gene and how severe the issues are is completely random. You could produce an animal that has almost no noticeable issues and an animal that is having constant seizures in the same clutch.

here is the link to the morphidia page-

4 Likes

looks like you beat me to it :rofl:

3 Likes

I would not recommend breeding.
Enigma in leopard geckos is extremely similar to spider and its complex in ball pythons. It’s not a behavioral problem. It’s either neurological in nature or equilibrium based. Even if your gecko is not showing signs of circling, rolling or difficulty eating, that doesn’t mean that the offspring that inherit the gene won’t have it.
Edit: also, any enigma offspring that may seem normal can have varied responses when stressed from rehoming or shipping that can cause symptoms to happen.

As far as the rest of the pairing…
-What do you mean by white and yellow enigma (bell)?