When is a hatchling ready to rehome

I am interested to hear from other breeders what are your criteria for determining that a hatchling is ready to go to a new home? I have seen some people say 3 meals, I have seen some say 5 meals. I am just curious from the community what guideline you follow and why? What other benchmarks do you look for when determining that you are comfortable letting a baby go? Just thought it would be fun to hear people’s opinions/approach. Looking forward to your comments. Thanks

The breeders I know wait til first shed and that they take at least 3 meals in a row without help. I’ve also heard that they will feed twice and week. However, this is my first year, I’m leaning more toward waiting til first shed and Keep them for a month while taking consecutive meals.

A lot comes into play for example an extremely small animal that hatch at 35 or 40 grams I would not let go even with 5 meals, now one that hatch at 65/75 grams or more I may let go with 3 meals.

In reality starting this year I am no longer letting anything go under 100 grams, why? Because a lot of people do not do the proper research and need troubleshooting so the bigger the animal the better the chances this animal has while they are trying to figure it out.

12 Likes

I think it depends on who you’re selling to. If you are selling pet quality snakes to beginners or to pet stores that you don’t know the level of training the staff have, you probably should be making sure that the snakes are very well started compared to snakes being sold to more experienced keepers and breeders who won’t panic if faced with a fussy hatchling.

2 Likes