When is it the right time to sell a ball python hatchling, how many feeds?

When is it the right time to sell a ball python hatchling, how many feeds and what type?

In the past i used to sell snakes after 5 consecutive drop feeds, but ball pythons are a bit different and I am new to ball pythons
It seems people prefer more reliable strike feeds for ball pythons???.

Anyway, whats the right time in feed numbers or type of feeds to sell a Ball python hatchling,
6-64286_tag-question-cartoon-smiley-question-mark-emoji-face2

Or is a feed after the second shed best?

What is best practice?
I want to do best practice and be confident my babies will thrive :face_with_monocle:

4 Likes

At least 5 consecutive feeds and at least 100g is my rule of thumb before I post them

8 Likes

I make sure they have fed at least 4 times but more importantly is how aggressive their feeding response is. If they are attacking the prey quickly and vigorously, then that’s good to go. But if I have a baby that is really skittish or hesitant, I will go more until they are showing a stronger response. Weight isn’t as important to me because most hatchlings start between 55 and 80 grams and so many hit 100 grams by the time you have given them four good meals. I do have a couple runts this year they came form boob eggs and so that I will play by ear based on their feeding response and whether the Buyer would readily have small prey items available.

6 Likes

That was my old standard for non ball pythons back in the day, i guess its still true with the additional ball python weight of 100g thing added.