Who works in the reptile industry for a living?

Just curious how many people besides myself work in the reptile industry full time with no other job?
I know tons of people in the industry but only 12 that are full time with no other job.

1 Like

well i definitely wish i can incorporate this industry/hobby into a job or some sort of supplemental income where i can at least do this as a job part time. My biggest dream is to own a house and renovate a spare room or area like a garage or basement into a full blown reptile room and even though i do not do this as a job i do know two people locally that do this full time and have done so for a few decades. One of my neighbors also does this as a part time business and owns several other businesses on top of that so thats 3 people i know who do this on a pro level.

3 Likes

I hope to turn my hobby into a full time job. It’ll probably take me a few years before I get to that point though, given this is my first year producing clutches.

I do not have a job outside my reptile business, but I do collect some money from social security.

Oh yeah, I do get a trust fund check every month… plus I do art commissions on the side as well as work for a local breeder doing cleaning and maintenance with their snakes and rodents. I have several side hustles going for me :joy:

3 Likes

Mine has become my full time job for pretty much the past 4 years after having to stop working due to going into kidney failure for the second time and going back on dialysis. Got my second transplant just over 2 years ago now and have made growing my business into my full time job. Couldn’t really go back into healthcare.

4 Likes

Well I respect the hussle. I do a few side gigs as well so I know what it’s like

1 Like