Who works with Mandarin?

Just got this Fire Ghost possible Mandarin ph Albino and Ultramel girl in today! I’m leaning towards her having Mandarin, but I’m no expert on it so if anyone can help me figure it out, or point me to someone who can, then I would be grateful. The first 2 pictures are the best at showing off her oranges and purples, but the others show her pattern better. Luckily she’s already almost 1000 grams, so hopefully it won’t take much longer to find out for sure. But even if she doesn’t have it, she’s still gorgeous and will be an excellent addition to my breeding plans!

8 Likes

Your best bet is going to be Michael Freedman, he has pretty much been the primary source of NR Mandarin in the US

5 Likes

That’s actually who I got her from! He wasn’t sure if her oranges were from Mandarin or if it was some kind of het influence from the Albino and/or Ultramel, not to mention the fact that Hypos are already pretty orange to begin with, which apparently makes it even harder to ID Mandarin. I know that they’re some others who work with the gene, so I was hoping that someone here would have it and be able to help. I know that it was a long shot since it’s still really expensive and not many people have it yet, but I figured that it was worth a try.

3 Likes

I know zero about the gene but she is super interesting looking for sure!

4 Likes

I did quite a bit of research on the gene before I decided to buy her so I’m fairly confident that she will prove out, but I’m trying not to get my hopes up too high just in case lol. I compared her to her Mandarin Ghost and Mandarin Fire Ghost siblings, along with regular Fire Ghosts that I saw on MorphMarket , and she does look more like a Mandarin than not in my opinion, so fingers crossed! But even she isn’t, she still looks really interesting like you said and I’m looking forward to breeding her!

3 Likes