African Egg Eating Snakes

This is my first time using this site and so I probably didn’t do everything right (especially with the hashtags) but I have a few questions about African Egg-eating Snakes, particularly the specifies Dasypeltis Gansi. I recently bought a 2 year old from a breeder here, but the lamp we had was too strong and the humidity was too low and unfortunately she got dehydrated and passed. I thought I did enough research but there is not a lot of information and a lot of it is contradictory, so I wanted to hear from experienced Egg-eater owners. I have found several egg sources; we can by conturnix quail eggs from both the supermarket as well as a small business nearby, and we have found multiple people online who sell finch and button quail eggs as well, though they are expensive. We are hoping to get a female as they are larger and easier to feed. Here are my main questions:

• What is the recommended age to get one?
  • What are some reliable breeders to buy from?
  • Where are some good places to buy eggs?
  • What are some important things to keep in mind when handling its habitat?
  • Is it possible to make a generally accurate assumption on the sex of a snake based on its appearance in a picture? For some reason most sites I’ve found don’t share the sex of the snake unless you ask.

I can give more information on what I already know and have if asked, but I think that’s enough for now. Thank you!

5 Likes

@t_h_wyman you keep egg eating snakes right?

2 Likes

This is my first egg-eating snake, I don’t have any others. (Oh unless you were asking the tagged person if they keep these snakes; in that case thanks)

2 Likes

I have kept them before, though I currently do not have any in the collection