Are Warnings about New Sellers Fair?

Question for you. While Morphmarket doesn’t recommend one vendor over another, there is a huge red banner in the inquire box when someone goes to contact a seller who is new to your site telling them that you don’t recommend buying from a new seller. I have been breeding reptiles for over 10 years, and have a Facebook following - I’m just new here.
It seems that I’m being set up to fail if you tell people I’m new, so they shouldn’t buy from me. How will I ever sell anything?

13 Likes

You mean this

This seller is new to our marketplace. We do not recommend buying from new sellers. We strongly advise you to research seller reputations before buying. MorphMarket is not responsible for problems you may encounter with the seller.

I had never noticed until now

I know that no matter how long you have been a breeder there will be this message

We strongly advise you to research seller reputations before buying. MorphMarket is not responsible for problems you may encounter with the seller

I am sure @John will be able to shed some light on this subject since he owns owns MorphMarket and I am only a moderator on the forum with no involvement with the behind the scene of the marketplace.

1 Like

Thanks Stewart.

@john I have no problem with being flagged as a new seller, just the part that says that you don’t recommend buying from me. :upside_down_face:

7 Likes

Hi Scotty,

Since you both emailed support and posted this here, I am going to copy my email response here.

I understand your reaction. Of course this does not help you, being a brand new seller on MM. However, this is the same process all 2,000+ sellers on our site have gone through.

1. It has nothing to do with you in particular, and most all users will understand this.
  2. After 30 days, this warning goes away.