Bamboo YB? Or just Bamboo

Hello all! So did a bad thing… Fell in love with this little beaut…
So now I’m Wondering If any Royal/Ball lovers can tell me how you can see YB in Bamboo.
Just put a deposit down on this little girl who’s pos YB. Never have I owned any Royal with YB in myself so not something I’m 100% familiar with unless you give me 2, one with and one without and I am sure I could tell :thinking:
So any indicators to go by?
I only have 2 images from breeder, I will obviously get more once I have her! But these are what I have for now… May not be helpful at all! Pairing was Bamboo Mojave Yellow Belly - Lesser. Thanks in advance!
I don’t mind her not being one since I’m not familiar with it I kind of hope she’s just a Bamboo, but either way I’m excited! :blush:

6 Likes

Can anyone help a girl out? :joy:

2 Likes

Maybe @t_h_wyman can help he is excellent with yellowbelly. I would love to help but I’m not experienced with bamboo. So I wouldn’t want to give you bad info lol.

2 Likes

Brill Thankyou!
No that’s fine, I’m not one for yellow belly so I’m not wanting to guess, plus she’s up as a pos, but thought people who actually work with it will know better than me. I’ve been searching online and they all just look lighter than her anyway so it’s hard to tell…

1 Like

I claim to be no expert, but a buddy of mine has hatched numerous Bamboo YBs. What I have seen is there tends to be a overall brighter golden tone, and there is more blushing in the dorsal dark areas. I can’t say with 100% certainty that the subject animal isn’t YB. However, I can say that if I were looking for a Bamboo YB, this would not be the animal I would select. Just my $0.02

3 Likes

Honestly I don’t want her to be a yellow belly. I’m hoping she’s just a good ol Bamboo! Think I’d be very confused if I ever Chose to breed her, and if I did she’d go to my Banana most likely as something I’ve always wanted to do, so that would be even more confusing with the yellows! :expressionless: