Bull nose rubbing

Hello have a female bull I adopted about 6 feet she had irritated nose when I got her she still rubs her nose its worn down not bleeding or anything . Question can these heal up completely if I can figure why she’s doing it to begin with? Or is it gone forever?

Basically her front scale / plate is flat some say after few sheds should heal up looks liek scale is completely worn down whats your guy’s opinions on it?

4 Likes

Welcome to the forum @roy200079! Sorry to hear about your bull snake having this problem! I have no experience with bull snakes myself but you should probably supply more information before someone who is familiar with the breed can help you.

What type of enclosure is she in
Size of enclosure
Substrate type
Temps
Humidity
Type of rodent
Do you feed live or FT
How long have you had her
Do you know how she was kept before
What type of heat
Lighting

This may seem like a lot of information to supply but the more information presented the better to diagnose the issue.

Again, welcome to this family! I am sure someone here can help you! :+1::blush:

6 Likes

Welcome to the community! I have had bulls and northern pine, and while not technically a burrowing species they did nose everywhere in the substrate, even my hands while holding them occasionally! They never rubbed hard enough to hurt themselves, although this is a common problem in a lot of different species. The reason we need to know all @caron suggested, we could see if it’s trying to escape too much heat, feels insecure and threatened, medical issues, ect. So please give as much info as possible, preferably everything @caron suggested if you are able. Also some pics of the entire snake and some of the nose may help as well. Everyone is really helpful here and I am sure you will receive some great advice, just need to know some more first!

3 Likes