Dalmatian Progressions/Grow-out time?

Hi y’all! So this is my first year producing dalmatians (and probably my last year as well, I’m just more interested in other projects). I have seen some dalmatians sold in the 4-7g range, but I feel like a lot of the ones I see are not even listed until they’re 18g+. I was originally planning to grow mine out to about 15-16g before selling, but I am a very small breeder with little space and I don’t think I have enough grow-out enclosures to grow out all 10 geckos from my dal pairing this year, so I’m looking to potentially let a few go around the 5-6g range.

So basically… I’m curious to see dalmatian progression pictures if anyone has them, but I’m also just wondering if anyone has advice for how long to grow them out or how to spot the ones I might want to keep around a bit longer.

These are all of the babies I have good pictures of so far this year! As well as the parents down at the bottom.

7 Likes

I LOVE the fourth one, might have to hold on to that one for me lol :joy:

4 Likes

Those guys are all so adorable! I love cresties, babies especially! :heart:

3 Likes

The father (I assume) at the end is SOOOO gorgeous!

5 Likes

I think it’s really difficult to tell, had a super dal at one point that hatched out with all of her spots, she only gained maybe a small handfull more. Ive also had babies hatch out with no spots, and then suddenly gain a ton. Im not sure there really is a way to know unless you’ve worked with a particular pairing for a while, and noticed a pattern in how they progress unfortunately :thinking::frowning:

6 Likes

If you sell locally and the people buying are knowledgeable with cresties, you should be okay with letting a couple go at the smaller size. If they’re first time owners or you’re shipping I would definitely want them to be a bit more chonky. And well hydrated regardless of when they go.