Feeding Schedule for Hognose

Does anyone have any recommendations for Hognose feeding that covers rodent size and feeding schedule based on snake weight?

I am new to keeping hognose snakes and most of the information I found on feeding refers to juvenile, sub-adult and adult. I am not even sure what differentiates a juvenile, sub-adult and adult. Personally I prefer to feed based on weight. I currently have 2 hognose that are a little over a year old and weigh around 60 grams. I feed them 1 fuzzy mouse every 4-5 days. Some that have seen them told me my male looks fat and my female looks skinny! The male is the Albino conda (60g) the female it the axanthic (58g). Any thoughts or opinions are welcomed and greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2 Likes

I usually do as followed

Hatchling up to 25 grams every 3 to 4 days

Animal 25 to 100 grams every 5 days

After that once a week until 2 months before cooling when I increase to every 5 days.

At 50/60 grams I also do not feed fuzzy but I feed hopper.

3 Likes

Are you sure your female is a female?

Once my males get around 60 grams I usually scale back from every 4-5 days to a fuzzy once a week or so. A few of my bigger males prefer hoppers every 10 days. My females typically move up to hoppers around 50 grams and medium mice at around 120 grams, usually every 4-5 days, but I adjust size and frequency some for each individual based on how their proportions look.

Thanks for the feedback from you and Stewart. So it sounds like I could move up to hoppers and feed the male less often and the female 4-5 days? She was sold to me as a female and there is quite a bit of difference in the tapper of her tail, it is much more abrupt then the Albino.
Better image:

1 Like

Can you show the tail from this angle

Sure, I can do that. She is extremely calm. I will have to wait until this evening……I am work….working hard :wink:

1 Like