First time getting eggs

Okay YALL this is my very first time breeding Crested geckos, I paired my male and female September 1st for a few days and removed the female for a few days and paired again for a few days and then removed her and did not pair her again, I never seen them lock up and what I did see was the female running away from the male and she’s a 1st time breeder, but the last few weeks I noticed her not eating like usual and digging around all in the soil and I would check the soil and no eggs, but she kept digging up the soil for the next few days so I just checked again and Boom she literally just laid 2 Eggs, do y’all think these eggs are fertile and with the incubator container im using do I need to put a small air hole in it because I know some people do with ball Python egg boxes but not sure if I need to? Im so excited right now and hope these are fertile and if someone can give me some tips and some help on what I need to do

1 Like

You paired them very late,
Pair them end of feb/March next time, as they lay roughly from March - September/October.
To check they’re fertile use your phone light to see if there’s a red cheerio (red ring).
They usually also dig a couple weeks before laying so try not to mess up where she digs next time as then she’s got to do it all again :sweat_smile:

Also incubating wise, in a tub with some substrate is fine, make sure it’s a bit moist, don’t over wet it! And yes a few air holes. :grin:

4 Likes

Okay thank you so much for responding and giving me tips and advise… I will definitely do what u said next time, this is new for me and I’m trying to learn and be successful at it

1 Like

One more question isn’t it true that she can lay again I read that they can lay multiple times

1 Like

That’s ok, happy to help!
They lay monthly. So from March-September/October. I even have a female who lays November also. :blush:

2 Likes