Future Starter Snake Opinions

Hello!
For those of us who have spoken before, you know that I am currently a college student, who won’t be able to begin her true collection for at least 2 years (after graduation).
I currently have a leo, hermit crabs, a Chilean Rose hair tarantula, and two bullfroglets (temporary fosters).

As said in other posts, after I graduate my crested gecko project will be first to start, but I do want a BCI in the future.
I know that almost any snake (excluding hots and arboreal types) can be a ‘starter’ with enough research, preparation, and if the animal purchased is young.
However, in order to better get used to snake care, handling, feeding F/T, aquiring F/T, etc. I have been considering the idea of getting a different snake first.

I’d like your thoughts as to if a BCI actually would be fine for a first snake, and if not, I’d like recommendations for a first snake. I know that rosy boas are generally considered great starters, but they don’t appeal to me very much.

Some of my desires/requirements:
-I’m fine with spicy snakes like kings or gophers
-Not very interested in rosy boas or sand boas
-Generally more attracted to colubrids than pythons (carpets are an exception, but I don’t think they count as ‘starter’?)
-I don’t consider BP starters based on their tendency to go off food which stresses me out, so I’m not even considering them

At the moment, I’m considering a pine/gopher/bullsnake, as they are excellent size, beautiful head shape, and spicy, which will help me get good with a snake hook, reading behavior, and avoiding strikes. All important for an eventual 40-60lbs BCI.

I’ve also heard they musk less than kings, which is a plus.

Would love thoughts and recommendations, thank you!

3 Likes

Not a boa person, but I am a colubrid person, so I’ll throw in a suggestion: