Help sexing day gecko

Hello everyone, I’m very new to MorphMarket community, so forgive me if I’m opening a topic that has been pointed out previously…
I’ve own this day gecko for about a year now, and I’ve been trying to determine the gender of it, Based on my experience it looks like a female to me, but I wanted to hear other opinions before I decided to buy a mate for her/him. Picture below has been the closest I’ve been able to get to take a private area shot. Let me know what you guys think. Thanks :pray:t3:

3 Likes

She’s a she :blush:

5 Likes

Haha thanks, I own leopard geckos, tokays, and a male peacock day gecko, but this one had me doubting :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:. Thanks again.

4 Likes

I see pores (I have no idea what that means for this species). @ghoulishcresties what makes you say female?

3 Likes

Females still have pores on giants, males pores are just bigger and more pronounced :blush:

4 Likes

I can see them! Sorry, it is not often that I get to help in gecko sexing.

3 Likes

Here are some males so you can see the difference😁

4 Likes

Yeah my gecko’s pores aren’t that pronounced

2 Likes

Wow they are really visible

2 Likes

Yeah, it’s always a pain when a species has pores regardless of sex. Like fat tails haha, I swear I haven’t a clue how I’m going to sex babies when I have them… :flushed:
But that’s a difference you can’t miss :sweat_smile:

3 Likes

Thats a female my friend im also new nice to join together!looking forward to communication about gecko’s!i have exp but not enough for when there young i threw up the same question and picture but mines only 25 grams

3 Likes

Not to get too far off topic but fat tails are also temperature sexed. There’s a range and females are the most common. Males only occur in a certain temperature range (which is unknown except for major breeders, it’s a trade secret). Though checking there might be a few places that mention the temperature.

4 Likes