Help! Snake sitting some unfamiliar species

A friend is having some issues with their heat & is leaving on a trip, so I agreed to take in two Kenyan Sand Boas and a Carpet Python temporarily. The only problem is, I have no experience with either species, I keep Colubrids. These guys haven’t gotten the most attention recently, so I started by cleaning the KSB enclosures, adding 6" of new substrate and getting everyone new water. I plan to clean the python’s enclosure tomorrow as she’s extra cranky. I’m also going to let them acclimate a bit more before feeding.

I guess I really only have two questions: What are the absolute need-to-know basics? Best temps/humidity? Heating for all is overhead CHEs (I believe) on a thermostat.

Thank you in advance!

5 Likes

I have kept KSB’s in the past but I always used under tank heating. They like it hot, 90s on the hot side tapering 80s to 70s on cool side. The deep substrate (aspen shavings?) is good and they don’t need much humidity except of course when in shed. I have also kept them on reptile carpet as well…… never did I ever use sand…… watch the water bowl. They can turn it over while burrowing…… and of course a hide or two. I am sure you will get a lot more better advice than me from others.

I know absolutely nothing about carpets. It’s very nice of you to offer your assistance! It’s a shame they were not being taken care of properly.

Best of luck to you! :blush::wink::lizard::snake::frog::+1:

3 Likes

Thank you very much for your tips, I might switch the KSBs to UTHs because at least one of them is currently up top basking (I’ve got the CHE on and thermostat set around 95ºF) though the other has burrowed and remains unseen. Might have to do a soak on the larger of the two, as she seems to have a few patches of stuck shed. I’ve got everyone on separate floors of the house for quarantine, sanitizing everything any time I go from one area to the other.