Indian smooth scaled sand boa care?

I just got a sunset Indian sand boa from BHB reptiles she’s really pretty. if anyone else has them or has had them please let me know if there are any tips or secrets for keeping these guys(Or just show off your own) I’ve kept Kenyans and rough scaled sand boas but this is my first smooth scaled

2 Likes

Gorgeous snake! I can’t say anythjng really for sure for care unfortunately. Off the cuff would assume care is the same as a sand but that’s just a guess.

1 Like

Thank you. I was kind of thinking the same thing these just don’t seem to be half as common as the Kenyans and it’s harder to find care sheets and stuff but for now I’m treating em just like my rough scaled because they share a range

Or I know they are both at least found in India I don’t know if they technically Share a range or not

Keep us (me) updated. I’m just getting into Sands as a breeder. Love Sands and have seen a couple of these on the market from time to time. Would be interested in seeing just how similar they are.

1 Like

Yea for sure I will keep you posted I’m really excited to see how she does here I had been seeing BHB’s add on morph market for a while teasing me too lol I had to get her

1 Like

So far what I’ve noticed in her short 5-6 hours being here is that she is much braver than the rough scaled sand boas. She explored her new tub much more than they did and she also ate 2 frozen thawed fuzzies right out of my hand (despite being listed as eating live fuzzies) and In the daylight at that! My roughies won’t eat frozen thawed at all and they won’t eat live until I turn the lights out. So that’s a really good sign I guess she’s comfortable. I’m so stoked to have her eating already.

You thinking she might need a bigger tub since she’s already proven more active? Amazing she’s so ready to eat in front of you and f/t. Most of my Sands won’t eat unless they are in their feeding container and covered up. Lights on and off don’t matter though.