Kingsnake growth

So I’m kinda new to baby colubrids, I have 2 male Prairie kingsnakes that were rescued from a building early winter. One was found in the ceiling, the other crawling down the hallway. One is super friendly but the other is vicious and tries to bite anything that moves. I plan on releasing that one outside the building he was found in once I know he won’t freeze. The other I’m debating on keeping and getting a female or two since I only saw just a couple on here.

My question is how fast/slow do they grow? One was 8g and the other 12g when I got them 4 and 2 months ago respectively. They are now 12g and 16g respectively. They eat f/t pinkies every week unless in shed. Is that normal growth or are they slow? (Is winter playing a part in it?)

Photo tax lol

2 Likes

Growth varies from one individual to another what you really want with Colubrids (which have a fast metabolism) is to feed them every 3 to 5 days because not only do they have a high metabolism but the prey being fed is basically insignificant at this stage being a sack of water and fat (no hair, no bone, not much flesh).

Once they start eating more miningful preys is when you can start decrising feedind.

Keep in mind like with many species weight is a num er and overall health and body shape should be the main focus.

2 Likes

Ok, I didn’t know that. I’ll bump them up then, is there other things I could feed them that would be better than just pinkies or just diversity in general? (Pinkies are pretty expensive for the size but I can do it)

Do you have anything you could use for a size comparison? Looking at your pictures they look much to large to be only eating pinkies, but you also might have tiny wrists :man_shrugging:. As a frame of reference, these Great Plains ratsnakes (in V-15 tubs) are both easily taking F/T small mice.

4 Likes

I do have tiny wrists :joy:. I’ll put a quarter by them here in a few lol

The smaller one next to a US quarter.