Mapping the Ball Python "Morph" Genome?

Hello everyone. I am very new to the whole world of Ball Pythons and reptile breeding for the purpose of selecting specific colorations and patterns. I don’t even own a snake…yet.

I have been browsing through a lot of sites, forums, youtube videos and other sources to find out if anyone has tried to collect enough breeding data to put together a rough map of the morph genome, a “morphome” map if you will.

The reason I ask is because I have only found 2-3 threads that address the subject of recombination here and on other forums. While no youtuber or blogger I can find ever discusses the subject in relation to Python regius. I’ve read a couple genetics papers on snakes, but they aren’t very helpful on this front.

I would think that such a map would be immensely helpful to breeders attempting to hedge their odds.

Is it the case that every single identified gene thus far found to affect morph segregates exactly according to Mendelian ratios? I’d think that breeders who have been at it for a long time might have noticed deviances from the predicted ratio when it comes to certain combinations. Certainly if breeding results were pooled from a large number of breeders, a low certainty map could be obtained.

Of course I can see an issue with confidentiality of trade secrets in such a scenario, I would like to know if anyone has ever attempted it?

Also, it seems that the likely candidate category of gene that is mutated in certain alleles to produce the various morphs are transcription factors. Since both neurodevelopmental (eye size, head wobble/orientation), and color/pattern are affected in a few, a series of transcriptions factors seem likely since they regulate a number of other genes and can affect phenotype in multiple ways.