New bioactive terrarium!

I just wanted to post the second bioactive I’ve made. I just finished it a few days ago. It’s for one of my cresteds Mercury.

14 Likes

#goals

It’s so beautiful! I like what you did on the left wall. AND THE COCONUT!

What are the pink leaves in the middle?

6 Likes

Thank you so much! The plant is a polka dot plant also sometimes sold under their scientific name Hypoestes phyllostachya.

3 Likes

I have used polka dot plants, they don’t fair well with grown up Cresties, at least not my Cresties lol but are great to look at.

Amazing enclosure, would love to to see it when it’s established? And also a pic of your Crestie :grin: Are you going to put anything through the middle of the enclosure like a bridge?

5 Likes

Looking good, though branches are a must! Without enough climbing objects it may result in your Crestie getting floppy tail syndrome.

7 Likes

This is my first time using polka dot plants, if they get crushed it’s all good they can always be replaced :joy:

This is the little dude in question, he hates everyone but it’s ok we’re working on it haha

I wasn’t originally planning to add anything to the middle but now that you both mention it I think I will

7 Likes

These are the only branches I have lying around the house atm. Do you guys think these are sufficient or should I get more?

And seriously thank you both for letting me know, constructive criticism is always welcomed and appreciated!

Also I figured I should add this as a side note mercury is not In the tank yet I’m letting it acclimate first. I’ll add him in in about a month.

5 Likes

I try to let my plants settle before adding a Gecko too. Although it didn’t help the polka dots lol

Yes, I’d suggest more climbing options for the middle of the enclosure.

He has a smirk :heart_eyes:

6 Likes

I’d recommend using larger branches (cork bark branches work great). Overall, I’d say it looks great.

5 Likes