OOPS! First clutch ever

I had to throw together an incubator when I found eggs. I wanted to get recommendations on temperature for the eggs from the experts :grin: since google gives a range of 85-90°. It took me a couple of days to get them consistently at 88° (making small adjustments to a fish tank heater submerged in water inside a cooler) and during that time they fluctuated from 85-90°. Is 88° ok or do I need to adjust it?
Do you all think they will be ok despite the fluctuation?
I’m really hoping they make it. She laid 7 perfect eggs. They seem on the small size (2-3in), but she isnt a big girl. My only size reference is seeing YouTube videos lol.
Thank you in advance for any advice!

12 Likes

88 is good, and you won’t have any problems from the fluctuation.

8 Likes

Ok thank you. I’m a majorly nervous newbie :joy:
I had no idea my girl was even gravid. Her body shape never changed :woman_facepalming:t2:

7 Likes

She laid them almost a week ago and they still look good. I candled for veins and all had veins. I was afraid to separate them.

8 Likes

Gonna follow this post to see where it goes :flushed:

Those eggs look very nice and healthy though! May I ask who the mother is?

7 Likes

Happy first eggs day :slight_smile:
Surprise eggs and the first are always the best

6 Likes

Great job on scrambling and getting an incubator together!
What is she and what did you pair her with?

5 Likes

Mom is a spider calico. Dad is a banana pastel. I really didnt think she took. Clearly I’m no expert :joy: but I got 1 lock April 12th for a couple of days. Dad is only 550g. She was 2100. She never showed an ovulation. Her weight stayed the same despite going off food in December and only eating twice right after they locked.