Ovulation vs. building in ball pythons?

Hey y’all. I’ve been lurking on the forums for a while and this year I decided to start building my collection for breeding in a couple of years. One of the females I bought was an adult super pastel from someone who was getting out of the hobby near me. I got her in late March and noticed she was curling around her water bowl, moving around a lot, but figured it was just normal. About a week and a half ago I noticed her laying a little inverted, and she’s now coiled constantly on heat and hasn’t touched food in over a month. I saw what looks like some potentially ovulation-related swelling, but it’s hard for me to tell because this is my first year and I’ve never caught one in person - and I did not pair her, so it was unexpected. I’m including a couple of pictures of her and am just wondering what I can be looking for in terms of determining whether this is an ovulation, or if it’s building, and/or what I should continue looking for. It’s definitely not as noticeable as some big ovys I’ve seen, but she has put on about 300g since I got her despite only eating twice in that time. The swelling is SUPER easy to see when I hold her up, but I don’t have a good picture of that. Any suggestions/welcome! Just trying to expand my knowledge here.

1 Like

It certainly looks like a solid build going on, though it doesn’t quite look like an ovulation yet. I’d say it’s pretty close though.

I have a thread here documenting what I’ve observed in my first year of breeding, and have pictures showing females that are ovulating. Might help out a bit!

1 Like

From a picture it is often hard to tell especially if it is toward the end of the ovulation, basically the mid section will be swollen like a football and very hard, the swelling than goes away.