Red Eye Leucistic Ball Python?

hey! i’m fairly new to breeding ball pythons, & my first clutch actually hatched this morning. i’m on vacay while my friend i breed with is home & sent me pictures of the hatchlings.

our female is a lesser for sure, not sure of any hets. & we paired her with 2 males hoping for a split clutch. one male was a mojave (not sure of any hets), the other is a butter fire (not sure of any hets).

we had 4 good eggs total for the clutch. we believed 2 of our babies were BELs, but when we had a closer look, one of the bels eyes are completely red. pictures will be below. can anyone give me info on what this may be or how this could have happened??

10 Likes

That means that both parents are het albino.

8 Likes

the original pairing is the lesser & mojave. the other male we did the split clutch with is the big boy with the piebald.

3 Likes

Congratulations on being a new snake parent! They are beautiful :heart: :snake:

2 Likes

thank you!

1 Like

Yes, to be a bel, but to be a cherry bomb type ball, both parents would have to be het albino.

3 Likes

This isn’t correct bels will look like they have red pupils this does not always indicate they are albino. There is zero reason to believe they are “cherry bombs” which is visual albino not het and visual bel. Anyone who has hatched large numbers of bels can attest that it isn’t rare for a bel to have pupils that look red Travis @t_h_wyman has explained what causes it in the past I don’t know off hand lol. While it is possible both parents were unknown to be het albino the odds are definitely far far far from great.

5 Likes

Really? I don’t remember seeing that discussion. I definitely would want to know that as I haven’t seen anything that would say different. So does the red go away or does it stay like that?