Surprise Western Hognose eggs?

Last winter I paired my normal female Western Hognose with an Axanthic male. They locked in November and by January she was swelling up. I thought it was an ovulation, but then months went by and nothing happened. So I figured I was wrong, she must’ve just been building and decided to reabsorb.

Fast forward to today, when I found these in her lay box (which I kept in her cage, just in case):

At first I thought they were slugs, but I decided to candle them and each egg has a small speck of red near the top. Possibly an embryo?

So I got an egg box ready for them and fired up the incubator. I’m new to breeding Western Hognose snakes. Can anyone with more experience weigh in on whether they’re slugs or not?

On top of that, the female looks as though she isn’t done. She still has a noticable lump in her. So I put the egg box back in and left her alone. She has been folding herself at weird angles. Trying to get the rest out, I think.

1 Like

Hard to tell for sure in the pictures. Definitely incubate them just in case. You should see a lot of vein development soon if they are good.

Hopefully they aren’t old eggs she wasn’t able to get out in time since that can spell trouble for her. A lot of times those stuck/retained eggs will have the remnants of a dead embryo the can look a little like what your are candling.

Keep us posted how she does.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. She laid two more last night. They’re full and round, but not as white as I’d like. My camera’s battery died before I could get a picture. They’re all in the incubator now.

She looks fine. She’s alert and active when I check on her. It feels like there’s more in her still and they’re closer to her cloaca this morning than they were last night. I’m hoping the first few were just laid early and the rest will be okay. She was all over the place yesterday and now she’s hunkered down in her hiding spot, so hopefully she’ll push the rest out on her own.

1 Like