Toffino Questions

Hi there, I am new to the very exciting and somewhat confusing world of ball python genetics. And just looking for any info that will help.

I’ve got a young Toffino, and plan to breed her eventually. (No time soon). And am just wondering what will be best suited to pair her with.

Thanks in advance!

Is there anything in particular that you’d like to make her? Another toffino combo, albino’s? Depending on the route you’d like to go…I paired my first toffino female to an albino Enchi male to get some nice Enchi toffino’s…along with Enchi albino’s, single gene albino’s & more toffino’s!

1 Like

So is pairing with other recessives or co-dominants the best route?

I’m not sure what I’d want to get out of her yet. No idea about the possibilities! Lol.

I always say dark genes are best for any form of albino combos due to the contrast it adds. Mahogany, acid, blackhead, black pastel, GHI, and cinnamon to name a few. If you want to make supers of those dark morphs down the line then don’t go for black pastel or cinnamon since both super forms have kinking as a common issue. Albino sumas look cool, and I have yet to see a super blackhead albino. An acid toffino would probably be amazing, but acid is also very expensive right now. Without dark genes helping the contrast albinos all look dull as adults, as they mostly all just turn solid yellow. I don’t recommend pattern reducing morphs for this reason. So enchi/spider/pinstripe/champagne wouldn’t be good if you don’t want a solid yellow boi. Another amazing combo would be a GHI mojave toffino.

2 Likes

What about pied, and thanks for sharing info God bless you

Thank you so much! We went to the MN reptile expo today and talked to a guy about Black Heads. I’m thinking that’s the way we will go.

Would it be beneficial to have some other Het genes in there?