Tub or Viv opinions?

I have opted to go down the tub route as im just starting out, i feel as if there is more benefits i.e cost , space, convenience.

whats your opinion?

Well as far as efficiency and space it is a great way to house more snakes together rather than a viv. I keep all my breeders in tubs as well as offspring since it’s easier to feed and clean them all at once it’s also more convenient because they all get heat from the same place and you can regulate temps all in one area. If you would like I can show you some of my own homemade racks.

9 Likes

Tubs are great. Hold humidity well, cheap enough that you can keep switching to the perfect size, easy to clean. Main drawback is just that they aren’t “pretty” like a display viv.

I started out with tubs and “upgraded” to a viv once my first female bp was an adult. Was also building out some racks at that time. I kept her in the viv for like 3 months and ended up just putting everyone into the racks. It’s easier, and she seems happier in there. (Ball pythons don’t like a lot of open space above them.) The viv’s just been collecting dust now for 2-3 years.

2 Likes

I opted for larger tubs that have space for some climbing opportunities, multiple hides, bigger water dishes etc. They do seem to use all of their space when they think nobody is looking- I catch them climbing and exploring when I pop in at night, though they do spend most of their days holed up in a cozy hide. I don’t have the space for vivs with live plants and all that for all my animals.

5 Likes

It comes down to what works for YOU and YOUR animals so long the animal’s husbandry needs are met.

There is more than one way to do things successfully.

It also depends on what your goals are, single pets, 100 breeding animals and their offsprings?

Pets I prefer PVC enclosures, breeding animals I prefer tubs.

9 Likes