When to worry about unlaid eggs?

Let me preface by, I know I’m likely being a little premature here, but I want to be on top of things.

This is my first year breeding, I only have two females. First laid 10 days after her pre-lay shed, no problems, back to eating like a champ. It’s my second lady who is making me anxious. She had her pre-lay shed 16 days ago. For the last 3 days, she has not left her lay box at all that I have seen, and I’ve been avoiding checking on her more than twice a day because I don’t want to spook her.

I know not all snakes run on a perfect time clock, she’s already thrown me for a loop being the first I witnessed lock up but the last to lay. I just want to know what to keep an eye out for, in case she needs to be seen by a vet. Thoughts?

2 Likes

The average time to lay eggs is 10-12 days past the pre-lay shed. But that is the average, and not all snakes will stick to that schedule (mine certainly didn’t this year, she laid eggs between days 13-14). I’ve heard of snakes going as long as 21 days. Do you have a picture of your lay box? Is it sitting on the cool end or the warm end? Personally, I think she will be laying very soon, especially since she hasn’t been moving out of the lay box. Sometimes they get picky about their lay box, but in that case, they typically wouldn’t be staying inside it. They’d be out looking for a better location to lay eggs. And did you palpate her at any point before her pre-lay shed to see if you felt eggs developing?

2 Likes