Baby or adult adoption if I'm trying to make it an education/outreach animal?

Hi, I’m new to MM and (mostly) to the hobby. I’m a trained ornithologist and science communicator, and I’ve seen firsthand the magic that can happen when people handle snakes for the first time. I’m very interested in keeping snakes for outreach/education purposes.

I’ve decided corn snakes are an obvious choice for an outreach animal. I was by default looking for a young snake when I came across an adult snake here on MM that looked like it would be a good option. However, I wonder if anyone that has done this sort of thing could advise on whether it’s a better idea to adopt a young snake, or an adult snake for this purpose? I’d appreciate literally any advice from corn snake keepers, particularly those who have shared experiences of their snake with strangers.

6 Likes

Ok so here’s my humble opinion but @caryl can give you expert advice on this subject as she breeds them.

If it were me I would buy a baby corn obviously from a reputable breeder and raise it for several months or so, maybe 6 months to a year even. Corn snakes take handling without getting stressed out better than other snakes. Handle it frequently except before and after feeding days.

As babies, corns are quite squirmy but with regular handling they calm down quite nicely . Plus by that time you have gotten to know your snake. A confident, familiar with the snake, handler, and a calm snake duo make for a great outreach/education program.

Best of luck with your endeavors! I think it’s wonderful that you want to educate people on what great animals snakes are. God bless you for that! :snake::heart::+1::blush:

7 Likes