Why Doesn't the Forum Allow Ratings/Reviews/Questions About Sellers?

It doesn’t make sense to me why you cant ask questions about breeders on here? I needed some help/insight on a possible issue I’m having but yall flagged/reported it? Not trying to break any rules, this Is the first reptile site I’ve been apart of that has an issue with that? Is it ok to ask about if someone private messages me to help me out? Or am I just not allowed to make a post about it? I’m sorry if I sound silly, I’m still learning how this particular site works and still trying to make friends on here. Hope everyone is having a great Tuesday :green_heart::snake:

4 Likes

At this time we do not allow inquiries and or feedback type threads or posts about specific sellers.

What is allowed is asking for advice with a specific situation you may go through and how to handle it, however names must be left out.

2 Likes

Yeah I saw that when I got the “your post is blocked” thing. I was curious on why?

Because not all sides to a story are always told truthfully. All it would take is a few hours for a committed user to completely ruin someone’s reputation on here. If someone really wants to give a bad review, the rest of the internet is open to them too do so, this place is for talking reptiles and how to improve the marketplace.:slight_smile:

6 Likes

To add to what @eaglereptiles said:

1. Ratings/reviews posts of buyers or sellers are different than other kinds of posts you find on this forum because they impact people’s reputation and companies.
  2. As such they are very “high touch” from a moderation point of view, requiring a lot of time and energy to draw out the full story from both sides so it is fair and truthful.
  3. This is a huge workload for the moderation team - more than the whole rest of the board. Thus there are entire forums dedicated to this task alone.
  4. As a result we have chosen at this time not to include this kind of forum on the community site.

Your options are: